Last night I was blessed with an opportunity to share God’s victories in my life with the women in my friends bible study group.

It’s so funny because if you knew anything about me, you would know that I am an Introvert. More often then not people misunderstand what being an Introvert means; there is so much more to it than being a shy, wall-flower.

An introvert simply reacts to life, and is energized by life and needs to decompress from life differently. After having lived a life feeling like I was strange and that something was very wrong with me, I have come to understand it differently.

My father is an introvert, my younger brother and my son are also introverts. It is my son who wanted to understand why the things that stimulated his friends had a tendency to wear him out, and leave him drained. He wanted to know why he wasn’t able to get the same satisfaction out of social events and other activities as his friends.

So he took the challenge to investigate it after a mentor had encouraged him to consider that he might be both a H.S.P, a Highly Sensitive Person and an Introvert. He wanted my son to realize that he had gifts and talents that his friends didn’t have because of his personality, and that they were positive attributes, not curses and we had often discussed they felt like.

So through my son’s journey to understand, he in-turn shared these revelations with me. I will never forget the day he said to me, “Mom I think you are an Introvert and I think this book, The Introvert Advantage,┬ámay be something you should read.” It is both humbling and thrilling to come to that point in your life where your child can teach you something.

It was life-changing for me, is the best way I can sum it up. Over the past few years I now am able to embrace my differences instead of being ashamed of them. Instead of ┬ácomplying with my extrovert friends insisting that I would and should enjoy certain activities and circumstances I just smile and say, “No Thank You.” I no longer try to force my square personality into the round peg. I am learning to be comfortable with all of who I am rather than compare myself to everyone else.

So last night as I stood before these women and shared, I had to smile to myself, amazed at all that God has done in my life to bring me to that place. I am now free to flow in the gifts and talents that He has placed in my life, and then He blesses me again as He uses those gifts to bless others!

